The Church Fathers:

The Church Fathers were the earliest Christian theologians and writers following directly after the Apostolic Age.  The time period during which the Church Fathers were influential is referred to as the Patristic Age and expands from the 1st Century to the 8th Century.  The Church Fathers were instrumental  in determining the composition of what would become the canon of the New Testament, establishing doctrine in the early Church, maintaining unity between Churches, and distinguishing between what was traditional teaching handed down by the Apostles and what was considered erroneous, or heretical.

 The earliest Church Fathers were the Apostolic Fathers, who were believed to have personally known some of the Twelve Apostles.  They were followed by the Ante-Nicene Fathers, who were those Fathers who lived previous to the Council of Nicaea, which took place in 325 A.D.  The Nicene Era Fathers were those Fathers who lived through the Council of Nicaea or in the century directly following it.  Finally, the Post-Nicene Fathers lived sometime during the 5th through 8th Centuries.

The World of the
church fathers:

Click Names for Links:

The Apostolic Fathers
& the Antilegomena

The Ante-Nicene Fathers

The Nicene-Era Fathers

The Post-Nicene Fathers

  • Timothy of Jerusalem (ca. 400 A.D.)
  • De Obitu S. Dominae (ca. 400-500 A.D.)
  • De Transitu Virginis (ca. 400-500 A.D.)
  • Transitus Mariae (ca. 400-500 A.D.)
  • Pope St. Innocent I (regn. 401-417 A.D.)
  • Leporius (wrote letter ca. 426 A.D.)
  • Proclus of Constantinople (Died 429 A.D.)
  • St. John Cassian (360-435 A.D.)
  • St. Cyril of Alexandria (376-444 A.D.)
  • St. Vincent of Lerins (Died ca. 445 A.D.)
  • St. Peter Chrysologus (380-450 A.D.)
  • Socrates Scholastikos (380-439 A.D.)
  • Sozomen of Constantinople (400-450 A.D.)
  • St. Prosper of Aquitaine (390-455 A.D.)
  • Theodoret of Cyr (393-460 A.D.)
  • St. Sechnall of Ireland (Died ca. 447 A.D.)
  • St. Patrick of Ireland (396-460 A.D.)
  • Pope St. Leo I “the Great” (400-461 A.D.)
  • Balai of Qenneshrin (Died ca 450 A.D.)
  • Narsai of Nisibis (399-502 A.D.)
  • St. Jacob of Serugh (451-521 A.D.)
  • St. Fulgentius of Ruspe (465-530 A.D.)
  • St. Caesar of Arles (470-542 A.D.)
  • St. Leontius of Byzantium (485-543 A.D.)
  • St. Benedict of Nursia (480-547 A.D.)
  • St. Gregory of Tours (538-594 A.D.)
  • Pope St. Gregory I “the Great” (540-604 A.D.)
  • St. Isidore of Seville (560-636 A.D.)
  • Modestus of Jerusalem (Died 630 A.D.)
  • St. Sophronius of Jerusalem (560-638 A.D.)
  • St. Maxiumus “the Confessor” (580-662 A.D.)
  • John of Thessalonica (610-649 A.D.)
  • Pope St. Agatho (Died 681 A.D.)
  • St. Germanus I of Constantinople (634-733 A.D.)
  • St. Andrew of Crete (650-726 A.D.)
  • St. John of Damascus (675-749 A.D.)
  • Cynewulf of Lindisfarne (Died 782 A.D.)
  • St. Paschasius Radbertus (785-865 A.D.)